feet on ground

Today was a great day. I went to New Westminster with Ashley to visit the Douglas College campus and figure out my future with Print Futures, the program for professional and technical writing.

I met with the Print Futures advisor, Maureen, and gained special permission to take some classes offered in the program. Although the Print Futures program starts in the Fall semester as a full-time program, the special permission from Maureen enables me to get a head start in part-time classes. Awaiting me, is a class called “Writing for Magazine and Trade Publications.” It sounds very promising and exciting – another fitting piece to the puzzle of life.

After the appointment at Douglas, Ashley and I browsed the streets of one of BC’s oldest cities and stopped by the Salvation Army Thrift Store. They had an amazing selection of books. I picked up a book as a joke gift for my Dad this Christmas, and I picked up a journal that Jann Arden wrote in 2000 when she moved to Calgary. I love that woman. To read her journal is to really understand and connect with her personality. It is so enriching to learn more about someone I admire.

To enjoy the beautiful weather of today, we then went to the New West Quay to grab some lunch and spend the hours we had left over until her academic advising appointment at Douglas.

Later, we went to a Content Writers orientation with the City of Coquitlam at the Innovation Centre (next to Evergreen Cultural Centre). This looks like a great opportunity to polish my skills, generate a writing portfolio, and, most valuably, contribute something back to the community. The best part about the content writer position is that it is a volunteer position. Volunteering is one of the most fulfilling things that a person can do. I feel blessed to be given the opportunity to give my time and my talents. I hope that everyone can find the honour and value in volunteering.

Leave a Reply

