Not sure what to do? Make a mistake

Do I sound like you?

One problem I have from time to time is indecision. At any given moment I will see an open field of possibilities and be unable to take a step. The consequence of doing nothing is that I don’t explore any part of the field. I just waste my potential stagnating.

So many times I want to get it right but fail to even start. Or I start but I don’t follow through. I know this is partly who I am but that interferes with who I want to be.

Solution? Make a mistake.

This means acting on my goals with the knowledge that I can fail. That I have permission from myself to fail. I am allowed to be imperfect and I am accepted if I reach my goal or not, plus I am encouraged to try. The best part about making mistakes is that you are never your mistake, you are what you learn from them. You are who you are because of them.

I know that this type of thinking comes from a place of perfectionism. For so many times in my life I’ve wanted things to be perfect. I’ve wanted ME to be perfect. But the truth is, we are humans. Humans make mistakes. By comparing myself to perfection, I am doomed to fail because I never will be perfection. But I can be human.

Instead of a perpetuation of negativity, this is a liberating epiphany. A popular lecturer of the 70s, Leo Buscaglia, spoke inherently about love and the potential of a human being. Buscaglia believed that humans could fly. Why couldn’t we? There is so much potential the human being that it would be impossible to say it had a limit. So few people reach even half of their potential.

You are not the static image of your peers that they say you are (unless you choose to be). You are a dynamic, growing individual who is never the same at any given moment. The molecules that make your body are also the molecules that never go to waste in nature. The smallest puddles quickly become ponds.

What’s important with starting projects and embarking on goals is to understand there will be mistakes but also that there will be successes. It is not one or the other that makes life enjoyable but both together. For some, getting out of bed or cooking dinner is a success. Use the fallen blocks of your failures to build on your successes.

Know that living life is a journey. Death hits us all, but life only happens to those who choose it.

Leave a Reply

