One of my goals summer is to write an album. So far I have two full songs and two half-written. I might be quite a way from the end of the tunnel by mainstream standards, but goals were never about the outcome anyway.

With that in mind, I am turning my attention to the process. I am learning that my original conception of an album was limited in the first place. At first I thought an album was a collection of songs. But really it’s more than that. A good album is a unified listening experience. It has layers of emotion and order. Each song should add to a greater whole.

My songwriting experience is still expanding, but I feel that my perspective has moved enough to include more parts in the picture.

Leave a Reply

