Thanksgiving is best celebrated always

I can usually find three things every day that I’m thankful for. Not thankful like “I just caught the bus” or “Thank God she didn’t sit next to me” (although those are legitimate things to be thankful for), but the kind of things that really make me appreciate myself. I live in Vancouver, and as I’m sure you know, it is very rainy in the autumn. Many people complain about the rain, but that is the price we pay for having wonderful, tall trees and green pastures. (The same people also complain about the sun in the summer.) Rain means I get to wear my boots and carry an umbrella. It means I get wet. If you’re the average person then you might not understand (I know everybody says the average person doesn’t exist, but I’m sensible enough to know I shouldn’t believe what everybody says), but it really is a lot of fun to dodge car splashes from massive puddles on the way to the bus stop. It reminds me that I’m alive and I get use these things called my “legs” and “my senses.”

Life gets busy fast, and time slips by on a schedule of its own, so it’s important to remember the things that you live for.

Today, I’m thankful for three things that never go out of fashion: tea, chocolate, and books.

Leave a Reply

