love is a fire

they said love is a lamp
hot to the touch, but burning
with a fire that lights the way
for all
to see in night, flight,
fear and fright
then is when you came into
my life

i was a fool a newborn a virgin
full of spring and youth and truth
i sang all day and eyes wide
dreaming i could not fall asleep
until the very last minute

you left me a man broken
but i am a man nonetheless

i had known my power, my voice
and had you given me a choice
i’d have taken your flower
loved you hour by hour
and who’s to say i didn’t?

never is clever only we were forever
and the stars never shone so bright

now when i remember the days that
we spent, the places we went

my heart glows
to the
memory of you

Leave a Reply

