because i am brave

It scares me to death…. that i have a cousin
who has taught me all i know about anti-homophobia
and the dangers behind a head tax
and the microscopic filaments of society that
stab into my skin
every second
eyelashes flickering and wounding me
and the spiral-ivy vined reigns
which lock my wrists together…

it scares me to death to think that
all she has taught me:
the matri-anarch of wholesomeness
and warm love…

cannot be enough for me
to get off of my privilege

and cannot show my near-sighted eyes
the beauty of a time and place
so rightfully beside our present

i am blind to the daggers
which i deliver into the trans human goddesses
whom i share blood…
because i am ignorant.

Leave a Reply

