mnmlst: new favourite blog

Sometimes I think that I complicate my life by setting up rules: ‘this’ diet is the best diet, so if I follow ‘these’ rules then I will have the perfect body and feel like holy water. Little do I know, this adds complexity to my life that makes it harder to live; life can be lived by rules, but the more you have, the more you run into problems when the rules overlap.

So here’s a couple links to two favourite posts of the day. The first is on living by ‘paring ideas,’ a process of living that values flow and natural change. This metaphor can be used in many domains of life, including writing, creating, sculpting, living, etc.

The second post is on what it means to be a person in the modern day. Or what it means to be a person in a universal sense…at least, that’s how I take it: sometimes you need to work a little bit to buy your freedom to be. Know who you are and do what it takes to be that. If you’re a monk, do what it takes to be a monk. Do what makes your soul come alive, but don’t sell part of it in the process.

paring ideas

I am not a brewer

Happy Thursday. Don’t let the rain weigh you down.

Leave a Reply

